Trees for Honolulu's Future
Trees for Honolulu's Future
Family Tree.jpg

About us

About us



A tree-filled island that preserves and enhances our quality of life, especially in the face of climate change.


  • Educate our citizenry on the multiple benefits of trees (such as cooling our streets absorbing storm water, and adding beauty to our lives);

  • Facilitate the planning, planting, and maintenance of trees in a sustainable urban forest; and

  • Coordinate and reinforce the tree-planting and maintenance endeavors of public, private, and nonprofit entities.


Board of Directors

  • Roxanne Adams, ISA Certified Arborist, Building and Grounds, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa

  • Tom Dinell, FAICP, Emeritus Professor of Urban and Regional Planning, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa

  • Kevin Eckert, ISA Board Certified Master Arborist, Arbor Global USA

  • Tom Fee, AICP, LEED AP ND, HHF Planners

  • Matthew Gonser, MURP, AICP, Office of Climate Change, Sustainability, and Resiliency, City and County of Honolulu

  • John Knox, Ph.D., John M. Knox & Associates

  • Terri Koike, ISA Certified Arborist, Municipal Specialist, Division of Urban Forestry, Department of Parks and Recreation, City and County of Honolulu

  • Wai Lee, Smart Trees Pacific

  • Robyn Loudermilk, MURP, State Planner

  • Lisa Marten, MPP, DrPH, Healthy Climate Communities

  • Myles Ritchie, The Outdoor Circle

  • Daniel Simonich, ProsPac Holdings Group, LLC

  • Winston Welch, The Outdoor Circle


  • Daniel Dinell, Executive Director



  • Mākena Coffman, Chair, Department of Urban and Regional Planning, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa

  • •Ka‘iulani de Silva, Director, Education and Consumer Affairs, Hawaiian Electric Company

  • Georgette Deemer, Deputy Managing Director, City and County of Honolulu

  • Rick Egged, President, Waikīkī Improvement Association

  • Scott Glenn, Administrator, Office of Environmental Quality Control, State of Hawai‘i

  • Lea Hong, Hawaiian Islands State Director, The Trust for Public Land

  • Ann Kobayashi, Councilmember, Honolulu City Council

  • Chris Lee, Representative, Hawai‘i State Legislature

  • Robert Marks, Attorney General, State of Hawai‘i, retired

  • Heather McMillan, State Urban Forester, Department of Land and Natural Resources, State of Hawai‘i

  • Jeff Mikulina, Executive Director, Blue Planet Foundation

  • Camilo Mora, Associate Professor of Geography, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa

  • Michele Nekota, Director, Department of Parks and Recreation, City and County of Honolulu

  • Deepak Neupane, Development Branch Chief, Hawaii Housing Finance & Development Corporation

  • Jon Nouchi, Deputy Director, Department of Transportation Services, City and County of Honolulu

  • Ian Shears, Practice Lead, Urban Forest and Green Infrastructure, City of Melbourne, Australia

  • Chad Taniguchi, Executive Director, Hawaii Bicycling League, retired

  • Marti Townsend, Chapter Director, Sierra Club Hawai‘i

  • Jon Wallenstrom, Principal, Alaka‘i Development

  • John Whalen, Chairperson, Hawai‘i Community Development Authority

  • Ulalia Woodside, Executive Director, The Nature Conservancy of Hawai‘i

Members of the Panel of Advisers (Panel) are drawn from multiple sectors: government, business, education, healthcare, legal, non-profit, arborists, land-owners, and developers, among others. They are persons who support the purposes that Trees for Honolulu’s Future (TFHF) seeks to fulfill. They want a tree-filled Honolulu just as much as the members of the Board of Directors do.

The Panel allows TFHF to reach much more broadly into the community than it can do by itself. TFHF needs a broad base of support in the community.