Panel of Advisers

Members of the Panel of Advisers (Panel) are drawn from multiple sectors: government, business, education, healthcare, legal, non-profit, arborists, land-owners, and developers, among others. They are persons who support the purposes that Trees for Honolulu’s Future (TFHF) seeks to fulfill. They want a tree-filled Honolulu just as much as the members of the Board of Directors do.

Gayna Buranelli, PLA, ASLA, Site Development Manager, Planning & Development
The Howard Hughes Corporation-Hawaii

Randy Ching, Tree Guy, Sierra Club Hawai‘i

Mākena Coffman, Chair, Department of Urban and Regional Planning, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa

Rick Egged, President, Waikīkī Improvement Association

Mary Alice Evans, Director, Office of Planning and Sustainable Development, State of Hawai‘i

Tom Fee, AICP, LEED AP ND, Principal, HHF Planners

Sharon Gi, Vice President, Development, Hunt Companies

Scott Glenn, Governor’s Office, State of Hawai‘i

Lea Hong, Hawaiian Islands State Director, The Trust for Public Land

Kanani Imai, Director, Education and Consumer Affairs, Hawaiian Electric Company

Karl Kim, Ph.D, Professor, Dept of Urban+Regional Planning, Director, Disaster Mgmt & Humanitarian Assistance Program, Exec. Director, National Disaster Preparedness Training Center, University of Hawai’i

Chris Lee, Senator, Hawai‘i State Legislature

Robert Marks, Attorney General, State of Hawai‘i, retired

Lisa Marten, MPP, DrPH, Executive Director & President, Healthy Climate Communities AND Representative, Hawai‘i State Legislature

Heather McMillan, State Urban Forester, Department of Land and Natural Resources, State of Hawai‘i

Jeff Mikulina, Former Executive Director, Blue Planet Foundation

Camilo Mora, Associate Professor of Geography, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa

Jon Nouchi, Deputy Director, Department of Transportation Services, City and County of Honolulu

Desiree Page, Kaulunani Advisory Council Member and immediate past-President, Aloha Arborist Association

Catherine Payne, Educator, and former Chairperson, Board of Education, State of Hawai‘i

Kathleen Rooney, Director of Transportation Policy and Programs, Ulupono Initiative

Pauline Sato, Executive Director, Mālama Learning Center

Ian Shears, Principal, Green Infrastructure + Urban Forestry, Melbourne, Australia

Kathy Sokugawa, Former Acting Director, Department of Planning & Permitting, City and County of Honolulu

Josh Stanbro, Deputy Director, Policy Lab, Elemental Excelerator

Chad Taniguchi, Executive Director, Hawai‘i Bicycling League, retired

Jon Wallenstrom, Principal, Alaka‘i Development

Tommy Waters, Councilmember & Chair, Honolulu City Council

John Whalen, Director, Scenic Hawaii

Ulalia Woodside, Executive Director, The Nature Conservancy of Hawai‘i

Scroll to Top